User initiating the workflow doesn't see the moved documents

by Elizabeth Szabo. » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:30 pm

I provided my credentials to the workflow that has the Move documents action. I can see the moved files. The workflow is a reusable one and I provide credentials at association time, so the user won’t need to do that.
I have a user using the workflow. The files are moving alright, but he can’t see the files at the destination location. The user has full access to the source and the destination sites and the document libraries are inheriting the site permissions. When I check who has permission to the document, this user is listed amongst others. In advanced mode it states that the document inheriting permissions.
Can you help me to figure out what’s happening?
Hardcoding credentials is not an option due to security reasons. Asking for them at initiation time is not an option either. This workflow has to support bulk upload of about 70-90 files at a time.
Thanks a lot!
Elizabeth Szabo.
 

by Roman Rylov » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:30 pm

Hi,

Could you clarify you question?

You specified credentials at association time and you are ok with such approach from the point of view of security, but when other user starts the workflow they don’t see the document. The document is moved and the user who started the workflow has permissions to the moved document according to ‘Check permissions’ on this document, but they don’t see this document in the document library. The question is, why user who started the workflow doesn’t see the document?

Is it correct?
User avatar
Roman Rylov
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:25 pm

by Elizabeth Szabo. » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:31 pm

Yes. The moved document should be displayed in the destination library to everyone who has at least read permissions to the library. So far only I can see them. I am a site collection owner/workflow associator.
Elizabeth Szabo.
 

by Roman Rylov » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:31 pm

Thank you for additional information.

Please ensure that this is not related to the view of document library, check that there is not filters applied to current view.

If this doesn't solve the issue, we can set up a TeamViewer session to analyze the issue on your side. Please, send request to contact@plumsail.com if this is required.
User avatar
Roman Rylov
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:25 pm

by Elizabeth Szabo. » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:32 pm

No filter applied to the view. At this point I can't run the workflow, since I can't open it in SPD anymore and I have already disassociated the old one (reported a .NET exception). See http://plumsail.com/discussion/how-to-u ... -document/
Elizabeth Szabo.
 

by Roman Rylov » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:32 pm

Unfortunately the issue with Designer sometime occur after upgrade because of SharePoint designer cache. Please follow upgrade guide to ensure that SharePoint designer uses correct version of workflow actions.
http://plumsail.com/workflow-actions-pa ... #Upgrading

Regarding the visibility of moved documents. Can we set up a TeamViewer session to analyze the issue on your side? Please suggest appropriate time and send it to contact@plumsail.com.
User avatar
Roman Rylov
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:25 pm

by Elizabeth Szabo. » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:32 pm

I have performed all the steps regarding the upgrade and ran the batch files several times to clear the cache, but that did not solve the issue. What else can I do to get my workflow back?
Elizabeth Szabo.
 

by Roman Rylov » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:33 pm

If you don't have SharePoint 2010 workflows on this site you can try to deactivate feature of Workflow Actions Pack, remove contents of the 'Workflows' folder in SharePoint Designer. See the picture:
http://plumsail.com/wp-content/uploads/ ... Folder.png
Then activate the feature, clear SharePoint Designer cache and restart SharePoint Designer at least two times (This is known issue, you need to restart it two times at least).
User avatar
Roman Rylov
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:25 pm

by Elizabeth Szabo. » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:33 pm

I have tried to upload the workflow solution into the solution gallery and activate the feature. This is the error I get: Microsoft.Workflow.Client.ActivityNotFoundException: The activity named 'WorkflowXaml_040120dd_2b3c_4362_a256_e8b316351421' from scope '/spo/da12c80b-5e34-4304-ad59-129aaeb7bb75/534df21e-5c53-4056-a860-0384e79b0946/a86018de-69f5-47be-8fbf-a91439395dd9' was not found. HTTP headers received from the server - ActivityId: a91f859e-b635-44bd-9814-7a60c30b2662. NodeId: . Scope: . Client ActivityId : 9149a09c-a022-1000-6735-34c1421db8a8. ---> System.Net.WebException: The remote server returned an error.

Does this help? That was before I saw your latest reply. I'll clean up the Workflow folder then.
Elizabeth Szabo.
 

by Elizabeth Szabo. » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:33 pm

Cleaning up the folder and performing the whole upgrade process with cache cleanups and restarts did not help. Could you send me the previous version of the Action Pack so I could open the workflow and save it without the your actions. Then I will recreate it with the new version from there.
Thanks for your help.
Elizabeth Szabo.
 

Next

Return to Workflow Actions Pack for Office 365

cron