Create Site - Exception: The operation has timed out

by sbowles » Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:04 pm

Hello,

We have a workflow that performs a "Create Site" action.

This workflow uses a Site Template that has not been altered for weeks.

The workflow is successful if a near-empty Site Templtae is used, but fails when we use the above referred to template.

This has started happening since last week.

The error message is "Exception: The operation has timed out".

The site is, however, being created, but it seems as if the step bails before the creation is completed.

Since this has only just started happening, without any changes our side, we suspect that maybe Microsoft have changed the timeout value on their API?

Can you please advise?

Is updating our version of the action pack an idea?

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Stephen
sbowles
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:55 pm

by sbowles » Mon Sep 21, 2015 5:48 pm

We have now updated the Action Pack to 2.8.5 and it has not helped with the issue.

To re-iterate, the site is being created, but the step times out before the creation has finished.

Is there anything that can be done for this?

Thank you.
sbowles
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:55 pm

by Roman Rylov » Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:20 pm

Hello,

May I ask you to send us at support@plumsail.com used Site Template and a screenshot of the workflow.
User avatar
Roman Rylov
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:25 pm

by sbowles » Fri Sep 25, 2015 1:05 pm

Hello Roman,

Thank you for your reply.

As the issue was urgent, we went ahead and re-created the template from a much earlier version. Sub-sites are now created much quicker using this template than before and is now working through the Site Create action.

I suspect two causes of this:
1) We enabled publishing which would have added a great deal to the template.
2) The template was a copy of a copy of a copy... dozens of times. Perhaps this added to some "bloatness".

I'll e-mail the template over now.

Thank you.
sbowles
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:55 pm

by Roman Rylov » Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:32 pm

As we discovered the issue occurs if you have too big site template, seems like it is a part of Microsoft limitations.
User avatar
Roman Rylov
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:25 pm


Return to Workflow Actions Pack for Office 365